COA News 2024


Gauchos win the Blue-Green rivalry game to earn the Big West regular season championship

SAN LUIS OBISPO, California – The UC Santa Barbara men’s tennis team dominated rival Cal Poly to claim the Big West Regular Season Championship. The Gauchos defeated the Mustangs 4-1 on Saturday afternoon.


Final: No. 49 UC Santa Barbara 4, Cal Poly 1
Records: No. 49 UC Santa Barbara 14-6 (6-0 Big West), Cal Poly 8-9 (3-2 Big West)


In doubles, the Gauchos took the early advantage with a 6-1 win of Lucca Liu And Gianluca Brunkow on field two. The Mustangs would even draw with the Gauchos after defeating 90th-ranked Cal Poly doubles Pablo Masjuán And Kai Brady on court one. A battle on court three resulted in Cal Poly winning 7-6 (5), earning the doubles point.

As the match went to singles, UC Santa Barbara tied the match in all but one Pablo Masjuán A 6-2, 6-4 win at the No. 1 seed gave the Gauchos their first point. Kai Brady then gave the Gauchos the lead with an outright win on lane five. Conrad Brown extended the lead to 3-1 after a 7-5, 6-2 win on court six. Luka Mrsic after which the match was won with a 6-3, 7-6(5) victory on court four. The win ended the regular season for the Gauchos, who played perfectly in Big West play, giving them another Big West Regular Season title.


1. #90 Bastiaan Weststrate/Colter Smith (CP) def. Pablo Masjuán/Kai Brady (UCSB) 6-3
2. Lucca Liu/Gianluca Brunkow (UCSB) final Raz Haviv/Sean Kamyshev (CP) 6-1
3. Joe Leather/Noah Berry (CP) def. Luka Mrsic/Conrad Brown (UCSB) 7-6 (7-5)

Order of finishing: 2, 1, 3

1. #65 Pablo Masjuán (UCSB) final Noah Berry (CP) 6-2, 6-4
2. Joe Leather (CP) vs. Gianluca Brunkow (UCSB) unfinished
3. Fernando Fonseca (CP) vs. Lucca Liu (UCSB) unfinished
4. Luka Mrsic (UCSB) final Bastiaan Weststrate (CP) 6-3, 7-6 (7-5)
5. Kai Brady (UCSB) final Sean Kamyshev (CP) 6-2, 6-2
6. Conrad Brown (UCSB) final Raz Haviv (CP) 7-5, 6-2

Order of finishing: 1, 5, 6, 4


The Gauchos are gearing up for the Big West Championships next week. The championships start on Friday April 26 and run until Sunday April 28. As regular season champions, the Gauchos earn the No. 1 seed in the championship standings.