COA News 2024


The ACR Institute recognizes 9 emerging leaders

The American College of Radiology has named the 2024 winner of the Impact in Leadership Award, as well as eight winners of the Emerging Leader Scholarship. All were selected through the ACR’s Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI).

The Impact in Leadership honoree is a neuro and interventional radiologist Archie McGowan, MD, MBA. According to his LinkedIn profile, McGowan is president of Atlantic Radiology of New Hampshire and co-director of Portsmouth Regional Hospital’s comprehensive stroke program.

In announcing the selection last week at the college’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., RLI Chief Medical Officer Frank Lexa, MD, MBA, said the Impact Award goes to “those who have completed this (RLI) training have used to change radiology for the better.”

ACR adds that the Impact Award honors individuals whose participation in an RLI course or program “proved to be integral to the successful completion of specific projects or initiatives” at their respective practices or institutions.

It was also during the annual meeting that the council named eight Emerging Leader Scholarship recipients.

The fellowship program recognizes residents or fellows who have demonstrated “a strong interest in leadership and who show promise to become leaders in the field and also contribute to the future of radiology.”

The 2024 Emerging Leader Scholarship recipients are:

  • Andrew Dakkak, MD, MBAAdvent Health Orlando, Orlando, FL
  • John D. Di Capua, MD, MHSMassachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • Sammar Ghannam, MD, MPHUniversity of Texas Health San Antonio, San Antonio
  • Yu-Hui Huang, MD, MSUniversity of Minnesota, Minneapolis
  • Hanzhou Li, MDEmory University School of Medicine, Atlanta
  • Arya H. Mirzaian, MDBrigham and Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School, Boston
  • Ekaterina Shpanskaya, MDDuke University, Durham, NC
  • Kaitlin Zaki-Metias, MDTrinity Health Oakland/Wayne State University, Pontiac, MI

ACR says McGowan and the scholarship winners will be recognized at this year’s RLI Summit, scheduled for September 6-8 in Boston.